Rethymnon

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I moved on to Rethymnon on day number 3.  Rethymnon is a small city with a very picturesque old town and beach resorts extending towards the outskirts.  I took a stroll around the postcard-perfect streets in the old town whilst enjoying a rich and creamy frozen yoghurt.   Then, I went to the Venetian fortress overlooking the city, and visited the huge site, which encompasses an open-air theatre, a mosque, and a couple of small churches, all overlooking the sea with stunning views.

Following that, I went to the beach, and in the late afternoon I had a lovely meal by the seaside.  My hotel for the night, Casa Vitae, was fabulous.  They received me with a shot of Raki and were incredibly friendly.  The room was comfortable and spacious, and I particularly appreciated the massive bathtub built into what was a chimney.  A cool bath to end a long hot day was an absolute joy!

To book transportation and accommodation, rely on the advise of Karma Travel.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

